Peerless Quartet

The PEERLESS QUARTET is said to be the most commercially successful vocal group of the acoustic recording era.

Personnel changed frequently. The Quartet is an off shoot of the Columbia Male Quartet. In 1904 it consisted of tenors Henry Burr and Albert Campbell, baritone Steve Porter, and bass Tom Daniels. In 1906 Frank C. Stanley replaced Daniels and assumed lead singing and managing responsibilities.

The "Peerless Quartet" name appeared in 1906-1907. The group was called the Columbia Quartet on Columbia records for many years after other companies adopted the Peerless name.

Arthur Collins filled Porter's slot in 1909. When Stanley died in 1910, John Meyer became the bass and Burr sang the lead. Frank Croxton joined the group when Collins left in 1918.

In 1925 Burr changed to personnel to include himself, Carl Mathieu, Stanley Baughman and James Stanley. The Quartet disbanded in 1928.

Biographical sources: "The Encyclopedia of Acoustic Era Recording Artists," by Tim Gracyk; "Billy Murray, The Phonograph Industry's First Great Recording Artist," by Hoffmann, Carty, & Riggs.


Return to the Jukebox


This page was updated on February 25, 2000.